Carter, Croner selected to All MEAC Team

Robert P. Stephens I I | 12/14/2009, 10:49 a.m.

Howard's Willie Carter (l) and Will Croner (r). Courtesy Photo
Howard University's Willie Carter, a sophomore wide receiver from Denmark, South Carolina, and defensive end Will Croner, a senior from Wilmington, Delaware were chosen as second team ALL-MEAC by the conference€s coaches and sports information directors.

Florida A&M senior quarterback Curtis Polley was selected as offensive player of the year. Pulley led the MEAC in total offense with 2,705 yards. The senior threw for 1,824 yards and 12 touchdowns. Pulley, from Hopkinsville, Kentucky, also led the Rattlers in rushing with 881 yards and 6 touchdowns. Pulley is a candidate for the Walter Payton award.The defensive player of the year is linebacker George Howard of Morgan State. Howard, a senior, hails from Chesapeake, Va. The rookie of the year is Mike Mayhew of North Carolina A&T. Mayhew rushed for 471 yards and six touchdowns in his rookie campaign.

Johnny Culbreath a junior from South Carolina State was selected as offensive lineman of the year. Culbreath is from Monroe, Georgia. Buddy Pough of South Carolina State was selected as coach of the year. Pough, who won the award last season, led the Bulldogs to a 12-2 record and a berth in the NCAA FBS Playoffs. The Bulldogs have won 19 consecutive conference games.


QB Curtis Pulley, senior, Florida A&M
RB Will Ford, senior, South Carolina State
RB LaMarcus Coker, senior, Hampton
TE Lamont Bryant, sophomore, Morgan St.
WR Oliver Young, senior, South Carolina State
WR Chris Bell, junior, Norfolk State
OL Juavahr Nathan, sophomore, South Carolina State
OL Josh Harrison, junior, South Carolina State
OL Johnny Culbreath, junior, South Carolina State
OL Robert Okeafor, junior, Florida A&M
C William Falakiseni, junior, Norfolk State


DL Justin Lawrence, senior, Morgan State
DL Dexter Jackson, senior, Bethune-Cookman
DL Kendrick Ellis, junior, Hampton
DL Josh Turner, sophomore, Norfolk State
DL Jarrell Herring, senior, North Carolina A&T
LB George Howard, senior, Morgan State
LB David Erby, junior, South Carolina State
LB Julio Sanchez, junior, Hampton
DB Terrell Whitehead, senior, Norfolk State
DB Antwane Cox, senior, Bethune-Cookman
DB Justine Ferrell, sophomore, North Carolina A&T
DB Phillip Adams, senior, South Carolina State
P/K Trevor Scott, sophomore, Florida A&M
P/K Blake Erickson, sophomore, South Carolina State
RET Leroy Vann Sr. Florida A&M