Primary Elections Change Face of Prince George's County

Carla Peay | 9/15/2010, 2:10 a.m.

The nine-member Prince George's County Council will have five new members in the next legislative session, as the new members take office in December.

In District 1, outgoing Councilman Tom Dernoga will be replaced by Mary Angela Lehman. Dernoga was a candidate for State's Attorney.

In District 2, incumbent Will Campos keeps his seat, as does Eric Olson in District 3 and Ingrid Turner in District 4. In District 5, Councilmember Andrea Harrison will also keep her seat.

In District 6, Leslie Johnson will replace Councilman Sam Dean, who was a candidate for County Executive. Johnson is the wife of current County Executive Jack Johnson.

In District 7, Councilmember Camille Exum will be replaced by Karen Renee Toles, while District 8 will see long time delegate Obie Patterson take over for the outgoing Councilmember Tony Knotts.

In District 9, outgoing Councilmember Marilynn Bland, a candidate for Clerk of the Court, will be replaced by Mel Franklin.

The other major race was that of Prince George's County State's Attorney. Outgoing State's Attorney Glenn Ivey endorsed candidate Angela Alsobrooks as his successor, who easily won her race over Dernoga and three other challengers.

In the race for Sheriff, former Prince George's County Chief of Police Melvin C. High narrowly defeated leading challenger Rafael Hylton.