RFK 'All-Stadium Team' Announced

Special to The Infcrmer | 11/20/2011, 2:08 p.m.

greatest RFK Stadium performers determined by online fan vote

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Events DC has announced the RFK All-Stadium Team as voted on by fans. The roster includes 50 of the greatest performers in sports and entertainment who played or performed at the stadium from 1961-2011.

Six of RFK Stadium's home teams, including the Washington Redskins, Washington Nationals and D.C. United, are represented on the list as well as some of the greatest musical acts of all time. The All-Stadium Team winners were announced Nov. 19 at the RFK Stadium's 50th Anniversary Dinner celebration in front of former athletes, local dignitaries and city officials at the Walter E. Washington Convention Center.

"We are pleased that fans engaged in this process of voting for their favorite performers in the storied history of RFK Stadium," said Gregory A. O'Dell, president and CEO of Events DC. "The athletes and performers who have helped make RFK Stadium great are some of the finest ever to play in their respective sports or entertainment genre. We are thrilled to celebrate this important landmark in our nation's capital and the All-Stadium Team is a great way to do so."

Fans voted online at www.rfkstadium50.com and chose from hundreds of names to create their own personal All-Stadium Team in four different areas - football, soccer, baseball and entertainment & culture. There was no limit to the number of times fans could vote.

Eligible players and coaches in the sports categories must have played for a team while RFK Stadium was its home field, and eligible persons/acts must have performed inside the stadium to be considered for the entertainment & culture category. Following the creation of their team, fans were encouraged to share their choices with their friends on Facebook and Twitter.

Following is a complete list of the players, coaches and performers elected by fans:


George Allen, Redskins

Joe Gibbs, Redskins

Darrell Green, Redskins

Russ Grimm, Redskins

Joe Jacoby, Redskins

Sonny Jurgensen, Redskins

Dexter Manley, Redskins

Charles Mann, Redskins

Art Monk, Redskins

John Riggins, Redskins

Charley Taylor, Redskins

Joe Theismann, Redskins

Doug Williams, Redskins


Freddy Adu, D.C. United

Jeff Agoos, D.C. United

Bruce Arena, D.C. United

Johan Cruyff, Diplomats

Raul Diaz Arce, D.C. United

Marco Etcheverry, D.C. United

Mia Hamm, Freedom

John Harkes, D.C. United

Jaime Moreno, D.C. United

Ben Olsen, D.C. United

Eddie Pope, D.C. United

Abby Wambach, Freedom


Dick Bosman, Senators

Ed Brinkman, Senators

Paul Casanova, Senators

Chad Cordero, Nationals

Cristian Guzman, Nationals

Livan Hernandez, Nationals

Gil Hodges, Senators

Frank Howard, Senators

Nick Johnson, Nationals

Frank Robinson, Nationals

Alfonso Soriano, Nationals

Ted Williams, Senators

Ryan Zimmerman, Senators

Entertainment & Culture


Bruce Springsteen & The E Street Band

Elton John & Billy Joel

Grateful Dead

The Jacksons

Michael Jackson

Paul McCartney

Pink Floyd

The Rolling Stones

The Beatles

The Who