Orange Wins Primary Bid

James Wright | 4/11/2012, 1:58 p.m.

Post-April 3: Orange and Biddle - Round 3

Vincent Orange Wins Primary Bid

The D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics declared at-Large D.C. Council member Vincent B. Orange the apparent winner of the April 3 Democratic primary on Friday, April 13.

The results of the final count of nearly 5,000 absentee and provisional ballots provided Orange a comfortable lead against his opponent Sekou Biddle.

Election board officials reportedly said Orange acquired a 1,746-vote lead establishing a margin large enough to avoid a recount unless requested. Certification of the official results is expected on Wednesday.

Orange reminded voters that his campaign efforts would continue until the general election in November. He joins incumbents Jack Evans (D-Ward 2), Muriel Bowser (D-Ward 4), Yvette Alexander (D-Ward 7) and Marion Barry (D-Ward 8) who also won reelection in the April 3 primary.

Minority Parties Results

While most of the attention of Tuesday, April 3 focused on the Democratic Party primaries, the city's Republicans and the Statehood Green Party had winning candidates, as well. The Republicans elected Bob Kabel, the outgoing chairman of the D.C. Republican Committee as the national committeeman and party activist Jill Homan as the national committeewoman.

Statehood Green members selected Jill Stein as their candidate for president of the United States and Ann C. Wilcox as the candidate for the at-large position on the D.C. Council.

Stein and Wilcox will be on the Nov. 6 general election ballot for election to their offices.

Independent Candidacies

Losing candidates in the Tuesday, April 3 election who are considering a run in the general election as independents will not be able to do so under D.C. law.

D.C. Code provision 1-1001.08 (j) (2) says: "Nominations under this subsection for candidates for election in a general election to any office referred to in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be of no force and effect with respect to any person whose name has appeared on the ballot of a primary election for that office held within eight months before the date of such general election."

The general election, which will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 6, comes seven months after the city's primaries, therefore the above D.C. Code applies.

Those who did not run in the primaries can run as independents and their petitions to appear on the ballot are due August 8. The petitions to get on the ballot will be available on June 15 from the D.C. Board of Elections and Ethics. Write-in candidates do not have to follow ballot deadlines but must be aware of campaign finance filings and requirements as candidates for public office.

Shadow Delegation Winners

Nate Bennett-Fleming, a resident of Ward 8, was unopposed in his bid for the position of D.C. Shadow Representative on Tuesday, April 3. Michael D. Brown defeated Pete Ross for the position of D.C. Shadow Senator in the Democratic Party primary and will face Republican Nelson Rimensnyder in the Nov. 6 general election.

The members of the shadow delegation are unpaid and do not have government-funded staff. They do have offices in the John A. Wilson Building in Northwest and their primary duties are to lobby the U.S. Congress on making the District the 51st state.

The shadow delegation also works with local groups and friendly allies in the various states to educate the American people about the lack of political representation of District residents on the national level.