Gray to Convene Meeting of D.C. Electoral College

12/13/2012, 2:27 p.m.

Mayor Vincent C. Graywill convene the 13th meeting of the District of Columbia Electoral College on Monday, Dec. 17, at the John A. Wilson Building in downtown D.C. The meeting will be held from 6:30 p.m. to 7:30 p.m. in Council Chamber Room 500.

Ward 7 Council member Yvette Alexander and residents Donald Diamond and William Lightfoot will cast the District's three Electoral College votes for the president and vice president of the United States.

"I'm truly honored and excited about being one of three electors for the District of Columbia," said Alexander. "Four years ago, I was elected as a super delegate to the Democratic National Convention. I am very pleased with President Barack Obama and Vice President Joe Biden for all they've done for our city and [our country], and support wholeheartedly, their second term," she said. "We have benefited from federal stimulus dollars and in Ward 7, the Promise Neighborhood Initiative, as well as the Affordable Health Care Act."

In keeping with federal law, the electors of each state and the District of Columbia are required to meet the third Monday in December following their appointment to cast ballots for the country's chief executive.

The District's mayor is charged with facilitating the Electoral College vote. When the Electoral College cast its first ballots in 1964 in a national election, the District gained the right to vote for electors for president and vice president.

According to the U.S. State Department, the Electoral College comprises 538 people, known as electors, who are chosen nationwide to meet in their home states and cast one vote per person for president and vice president.

Electors for each party are selected by their party organizations or leadership. Once chosen they are pledged to support the candidate they represent and may not vote otherwise.