Daniel Moses, Friendship Teacher of the Year

Barrington M. Salmon | 6/7/2012, 5:29 p.m.

The program, established in 1999, is financed by a $1.6 billion grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. To date, more than 16,000 students have received Gates Millennium scholarships and attend more than 1,500 schools, including Ivy League colleges, flagship state universities, United Negro College Fund member institutions and other institutions serving minorities.

A selection committee chose the nominees after monitoring them in the classroom and using other criteria. They were: Moses; Vitavia McWhite, Friendship Academy at Cherry Hill; Teriyana Fields, Woodridge Elementary and Middle School; Nate' Wheeler, Friendship Preparatory Academy at Calverton; Leyla Aboulhosn, Friendship Chamberlain Elementary; Lindsey Walker, Academies at Anacostia; Keisha Lewis, Friendship South East Elementary Academy; Gregory Dohmnann, Friendship Technology Preparatory Academy; Ivy Burklew-Ozinal, Friendship Academy of Engineering and Technology; Doris Coleman, Friendship Academy of Science and Technology; and Derrick Gooding, Blow Pierce Junior Academy.

Moses won $15,000 as Teacher of the Year, while each nominee took home $5,000. Friendship paid the taxes on the awards.

Friendship Chairman Don Hense congratulated everyone associated with the school for the success the charter school enjoys.

"Friendship was built on the notion that we should be a community school," he said. "Education, housing and jobs are needed to build a strong community. Our charter schools were different. We extend the type of help families and students need. Some of you were here in 1998 when we were trying to put furniture together. We are grateful for all the workers who helped."

Hense said the awards were a great way for school officials to show their appreciation for the teachers.

"This is the time we come together to celebrate the people who are the glue of the organization. We appreciate what you do and your work with the children," he said.