Democratic Incumbents Hold Seats

Gale Horton Gay | 11/7/2012, 9:51 a.m.

Voters in Maryland overwhelmingly chose experience in selecting leaders for the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives on Nov. 6. Three incumbents - Representative Donna F. Edwards, Senator Ben Cardin and Congressman Steny H. Hoyer - won landslide victories in their respective races.

Edwards scored a decisive victory to retain her congressional seat, beating challengers Faith Loudon and Scott Soffen.

Edwards, 54, a Democrat, has represented the 4th congressional district since 2009, received 142,747 votes [75 percent] while Loudon, a retiree who has been a leader in the Maryland Republican Party for several years, garnered 43,186 votes and Libertarian Soffen received 3,818 votes.

"I am grateful that the residents of Prince George's and Anne Arundel counties have trusted me to represent them in the U.S. House of Representatives," said Edwards on election night. "Since 2008, I have fought every single day to improve the lives of my constituents and will continue that effort in the 113th Congress. I look forward to working on behalf of Maryland's families to create jobs, defend Social Security and Medicare, prepare students for the 21st century global economy, and protect the Chesapeake Bay and Maryland's other natural resource."

Edwards spent Election Day rallying her volunteers and greeting voters at several precincts throughout Prince George's and Anne Arundel counties. She watched returns and celebrated her victory at the Doubletree Hotel in Annapolis and LaFontaine Bleu in Lanham.

Cardin also held onto his Senate seat solidly defeating three challengers. Cardin, a Democrat, received slightly more than 1 million votes [54 percent] while Republican Daniel Bongino, a small business owner and former U.S. Secret Service agent, garnered 529,205 votes. Two others vying for the seat, businessman S. Rob Sobhandi, an independent, and Libertarian Dean Ahmad, a civic activist, received 325,276 votes and 22,910 votes respectively.

Cardin, 69, was first elected to the Senate in 2006 and serves on the Environmental and Public Works, Finance, Foreign Relations, Budget and Small Business and Entrepreneurship committees. He served in the U.S. House of Representatives for 19 years.

In the 5th congressional district, Hoyer will also be returning to Washington after commandingly defeating Antony O'Donnell by a vote of 177,766 to 75,745.

Hoyer, 73, a Democrat, has served for 16 terms in Congress and was the longest-serving member of the U.S. House of Representatives for Maryland in 2007.

O'Donnell, a Republican, has served in the Maryland House of Delegates representing Calvert and St. Mary's counties since 1994.

Two other challengers Arvin Vohra, a Libertarian, and Bob Auerbach drew 3,223 votes and 3,383 respectively.