Cabrera, Posey Capture MVP Honors

Charles E.Sutton | 11/19/2012, 12:26 p.m.

Nov. 16, 2012

The Detroit Tigers' Miguel Cabrera captured the American League's MVP award on Thursday after he became major league baseball's first Triple Crown winner in 45 years, and the San Francisco Giants' Buster Posey was voted the National League honor.

Cabrera got 22 of 28 first-place votes and 362 points from the American League panel of the Baseball Writers' Association of America to decisively beat Los Angeles Angels center fielder Mike Trout, who received six firsts and 281 points. Earlier in the week, Trout was voted AL rookie of the year.

After experiencing a severe leg injury which cut short his 2011 season, Posey recovered to become the first catcher in 70 years to capture the NL batting title, and help the Giants win its second World Series championship in three years. He received 27 of 32 first-place votes and 422 points from the National League panel, beating 2011 winner Ryan Braun of the Milwaukee Brewers, who was second with 285 points.

Cabrera batted .330, hitting 44 home runs and knocking in 139 runs to become the first Triple Crown winner since Carl Yastrzemski in 1967. The last four players to win the Triple Crown have been voted MVP, including Frank Robinson in 1966 and Mickey Mantle in 1956. Cabrera also led the American League champion Tigers with a .606 slugging percentage. He is the second consecutive Detroit player to win MVP following pitcher Justin Verlander in 2011 and was the first Venezuelan to earn the award.

Prior to the start of the season, he moved from first base to third to make way for Prince Fielder, who signed as a free agent.

Posey, the 2010 National League rookie of the year, set career highs in 2012 with a .336 batting average, 24 homers and 103 RBIs for the World Series champion Giants. His 2011 season was ended prematurely by a home plate collision with the Marlins' Scott Cousins on May 25 that caused three torn ankle ligaments and a fractured bone in Posey's lower left leg.