Ivey Elected Delegation Chair

10/1/2012, 4:24 p.m.

ANNAPOLIS, MD - Members of the Prince George's County House Delegation recently elected Delegate Jolene Ivey, D-Dist. 47 as the new chair of the delegation, succeeding Delegate Melony G. Griffith, D-District 25.

The transition continues a tradition among the 23-member group of having its leaders serve no more than two terms. The delegation holds elections every two years, and no person has chaired the group for more than two terms in its 60-year history.

Ivey was elected in a unanimous vote among members present at a meeting, held in Annapolis on Sept. 26. Delegates Benjamin S. Barnes, D-Dist. 21 and Veronica Turner, D-Dist. 26 were elected 1st and 2nd vice chairs of the group.

The new leaders will take office formally on Dec. 1, when the delegation holds its annual public hearing on local legislation at Prince George's Community College in Largo.