CBC Members Host Nationwide Voter Registration Activities

9/24/2012, 8:13 p.m.

WASHINGTON, DC - On Sept. 25, National Voter Registration Day, Congressional Black Caucus (CBC) members will host a series of events across the country to ensure their communities are prepared to vote on Election Day.

Community leaders, local and state elected officials, will join CBC members in their districts as a part of the "For the People" Voter Protection initiative that brings attention to block the vote efforts, like restrictive voter ID laws, that may impede as many as 5 million people from registering to vote and/or from casting a ballot on Nov. 6.

At least 34 states have introduced laws that would require voters to show photo identification in order to vote and at least 12 states have introduced laws that would require proof of citizenship such as a birth certificate, to register to vote or to vote. The states that have already cut back on voting rights provide 171 electoral votes in 2012 - 63 percent of the 270 needed to win the presidency.

The CBC is committed to ensuring that no eligible voter is turned away from the ballot box during early voting and on Election Day.

The following CBC members are scheduled to host voter protection events:

CBC Chairman Emanuel Cleaver, II (MO - 05)

Grand Hall of Union Station

30 W. Pershing Road

Kansas City, MO 64108

Time: 10am - 11am CST

Contact: Mary Petrovic, (202) 494-9425

Congresswoman Barbara Lee (CA - 09)

Alameda County Registrar of Voters

12th and Oak Street

Oakland, CA 34612

Time: 11am - 1pm PT

Contact: Katherine Jolly, (510) 763-0370

Congressman James Clyburn (SC - 06) with Special Guest, Rev. Al Sharpton

Charles R. Drew Wellness Center

2101 Walker Solomon Way

Columbia, SC 29201

Time: 10 - 11:30am ET

Contact: Hope Derrick, (803) 799-1100

Congresswoman Sheila Jackson Lee (TX - 18)

Palm Center Courtroom Annex

5300 Griggs Road, 2nd Floor

Houston, TX 77021

Time: 11am - 1pm CST

Contact: Michael McQuerry, (202) 225-7080

Congresswoman Marcia Fudge (OH - 11)

Cuyahoga Board of Elections

2925 Euclid Ave

Cleveland, OH 44115

Time: 11am - 1pm CST

Contact: Belinda Prinz, (216) 630-0072

Congressman Al Green (TX-09)

4814 Almeda Road

Houston, Tx 77004

Time: 4 - 8pm CST

Contact: Kevin Dancy, (713) 383-9234

Congressman Alcee Hastings (FL - 23)

Office of Congressman Alcee Hastings

2701 W. Oakland Park Blvd, Suite 200

Fort Lauderdale, FL 33311

Time: 10:30am - 12:30pm ET

Contact: Ian Wolf, (202) 225-1313

Congresswoman Gwen Moore (WI-4)

Milwaukee City Hall Rotunda

200 E. Wells Street

Milwaukee, WI 53202

Time: 11am CT

Contact: Nicole Williams or Stacy Cox, (202) 225-4572

Congressman Elijah Cummings (MD - 7)

Parlett L. Moore Library Quad

Coppin State University

2500 West North Ave.

Baltimore, MD 21216

Time: 12:30pm

Contact: Safiya Simmons, (202) 225-4289

Congressman Sanford Bishop (GA- 02) - TWO LOCATIONS

Albany Government Center

222 Pine Avenue

Albany, GA 31701

Time: 8:30am ET


Columbus Government Center

100 10th Street

Columbus, GA 31901

Time: 5pm ET

Contact: Maxwell Gigle, (202) 225-3631

Congressmen John Lewis (GA - 05), David Scott (GA -13), and Hank Johnson (GA - 04)

Georgia State Capitol - Washington Street Side

206 Washington Street SW

Atlanta, GA 30334

Time: 11am - 1pm ET

Contact: Brenda Jones, (202) 226-4673

Congresswoman Eddie Bernice Johnson (TX - 30)

Dallas County High Schools except the I.S.D.'s of Highland Park and Mesquite

Dallas County, Texas

Time: 10am - 2pm CST

Contact: Collin Chlebak, (202) 225-8885

For more information about the Congressional Black Caucus' Voter Protection Initiative, visit www.TheCongressionalBlackCaucus.com/voteready.