White House Announces 2014 Easter Egg Roll Program and Talent Line-Up

whitehouse.gov | 4/14/2014, 6:33 p.m.
Courtesy of whitehouse.gov

The White House announces the program, activities, and talent line-up for the 2014 White House Easter Egg Roll (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w-ax0MOPZJI), a tradition in its 136th year and the largest annual public event at the White House.

The Easter Egg Roll will take place Monday, April 21, on the South Lawn of the White House and in support of the First Lady’s Let’s Move! initiative is focused on promoting health and wellness with the theme, “Hop into Healthy, Swing into Shape.” The event will feature live music, sports courts, cooking stations, storytelling and, of course, Easter egg rolling.

To learn more about the Easter Egg Roll visit www.WhiteHouse.gov/EasterEggRoll. Tune in for live streams from the South Lawn on April 21, 2014 at http://www.whitehouse.gov/live. You can also join the conversation online using the hashtag #EasterEggRoll and get the latest updates by checking out Let’s Move! (http://www.letsmove.gov) on Twitter @letsmove and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/letsmove.

Talent Line-up

This year’s special guest is 12-year-old singing sensation, Cam Anthony. Anthony will sing the National Anthem as well as perform on the Rock ‘n’ Egg Roll Stage.

DJ Beauty & the Beatz, Ariana Grande, Candice Glover, R5 featuring Ross Lynch, DJ Young1, and Sesame Street’s Mando, Rosita, Abby Cadabby, and Cookie Monster, will perform on the Rock ‘n’ Egg Roll Stage. The Official Emcee of the 2014 White House Easter Egg Roll is Tommy McFly, who will introduce acts on the Ellipse music stage. The United States Marine Corps Band will perform American classics.

Readers on the Storytime Stage will be Jim Carrey, Miss America 2014 Nina Davuluri, former NFL player and NASA astronaut Leland Melvin, DJ Lance Rock, Debby Ryan from the Disney Channel’s JESSIE and Sesame Street’s Mando, Rosita, Abby Cadabby, and Cookie Monster.

Chefs Maneet Chauhan, Alexandra Guarnaschelli, Sam Kass, Marc Murphy, Charles Phan, Super Sprowtz, and the Disney Channel cast of JESSIE will prepare healthy eating demonstrations in the Play with your Food station.

In the Eggtivity Zone, Dr. Jayne Greenberg, Cornell McClellan, Donna Richardson Joyner, Dr. Risa Lavizzo-Mourey, Michelle Kwan, Anthony Robles, and Shellie Pfohl will represent the President’s Council on Fitness, Sports & Nutrition as players and coaches from professional sports teams teach kids how to play sports and show kids easy, fun ways to stay active and fit.

Athletes participating in the Eggtivity Zone include:

Katrina Adams (US Tennis Association)

Dwayne Allen (Indianapolis Colts)

Davy Arnuad (D.C. United)

Brian Baker (US Tennis Association)

Kelly Berger (US Lacrosse)

Bonnie Bernstein (Sports Journalist)

Bobby Boswell (D.C. United)

Stephen Bowen (Washington Redskins)

Michael Carter-Williams (Philadelphia 76ers)

Julie Chu (US Olympic Ice Hockey)

Kirk Cousins (Washington Redskins)

Monique Currie (Washington Mystics)

Martin Conlon (NBA)

Adrian Dantley (NBA)

Derrick Dockery (NFL)

Fabian Espondola (D.C. United)

Dwight Freeney (San Diego Chargers)

Maria Cruz Garcia (US Olympic Fencer)

Pierre Garçon (Washington Redskins)

Gio Gonzales (Washington Nationals)

Robert Griffin III (Washington Redskins)

Richard Hamilton (NBA)

Allyson Hamlin (D.C. United)

Jamie Hampton (US Tennis Association)

Tony Hawk (Professional Skateboarder)

Daryl Homer (US Olympic Fencer)

Ryan Kerrigan (Washington Redskins)

Bradley Klahn (US Tennis Association)