Hampton U. Named HBCU of the Year

Dorothy Rowley | 7/12/2014, 1:26 p.m.
Hampton University President William R. Harvey (Courtesy photo)

Hampton University in Virginia was named as the year's top historically black school during the 4th annual HBCU Awards ceremony in New Orleans on Friday.

The school also won top honors for research and women’s athletics at the ceremony, which was held at Dillard University.

The ceremony was part of the 2014 HBCU Media Week, a two-day conference that attracted more than 40 HBCU communications executives, faculty members, presidents, alumni officers and vice presidents from HBCUs across the country.

Other awardees included:

Best Marching Band - Southern University Human Jukebox

Best Choir - Oakwood University Aeolian Choir

Best Student Government Association - Prairie View A&M University

Best Student Organization - Fisk University HCASC Team

Best Student Newspaper - Morehouse College Maroon Tiger Newspaper

Best Alumni Publication - The A&M Magazine, Florida A&M

Best Research Center - Hampton University Minority Men’s Health Initiative

Best Fine Arts Program - Alabama State University Department of Theater Arts

Best Business Program - Morgan State University Earl G. Graves School of Business and Management

Best STEM Program - Johnson C. Smith University College of STEM

Best Nursing Program - Dillard University College of Nursing

Best School of Social Work - Clark Atlanta University School of Social Work

Male Faculty Member of the Year - Greg Carr, Howard University

Female Faculty Member of the Year - Ayoka Chenzira, Spelman College

Male Coach of the Year - Dawson Odums, Southern University

Female Coach of the Year - Dawn Brown, Prairie View A&M University

Male Athlete of the Year - Dray Joseph, Southern University

Female Athlete of the Year - Jazzmin Parker, Texas Southern University

​Men’s Team of the Year - North Carolina Central University Men’s Basketball

​Female Team of the Year - Hampton University Women’s Basketball

National Alumni Association of the Year - Florida A&M University

Male Alumnus of the Year - Michael Strahan, Texas Southern University

Female Alumnus of the Year - Cynthia Butler-McIntyre, Dillard University

Male Student of the Year - Kelcey Wright, Albany State University

Female Student of the Year - Priscilla Barbour, Prairie View A&M University

Male President of the Year - Dr. Walter Kimbrough, Dillard University

Female President of the Year - Dr. Carolyn Meyers, Jackson State University

HBCU of the Year - Hampton University